£15.99 GBP £19.99

Broken down into 3 distinct 'chapters', this sprawling 21-track opus is concerned with the downfall of man and the death of the planet.

The album was recorded at Flightless HQ in East Brunswick, Melbourne Australia in early 2017 and produced by the band's Stu Mackenzie. Lit by thunderclaps and lightning, 'Murder Of The Universe' inhabits a sonic landscape of death, decay, ossification, fossilisation, rebirth. It is a place occupied by wandering shape-shifting beasts, bleeding skies, pools of blood, great fires and mushroom clouds; a planet rent asunder by conflict.

A disorientating experience, the album hinges on three distinct sections that rise from larval beds, and whose lyrics should be carved in stone, squeezed from moss, discovered in ancient runes. And all the while a passing cast of characters imbue the tale with both human and non-human emotions. Snippets of earlier recordings breakthrough collection 'I'm In Your Mind Fuzz' and 'Nonagon Infinity' resurface throughout like ghostly shadow form to haunt their latest sound.

In years to come King Gizzard and The Lizard Wizard will be judged not by their separate albums, but by a body of work where themes, melodies, motifs, riffs and ideas resurface and recur, each album peeling back a layer of the onion to glimpse at past and future alike.

LP - Black Vinyl with 32 page booklet and Download card included.


  • The Tale Of The Altered Beast
  • A New World
  • Altered Beast I
  • Alter Me I
  • Altered Beast II
  • Alter Me II
  • Altered Beast III
  • Alter Me III
  • Altered Beast IV
  • Life/Death
  • The Lord Of Lighting Vs Balrog
  • Some Context
  • The Reticent Raconteur
  • The Lord Of Lightning (A)
  • The Lord Of Lightning (B)
  • The Balrog
  • The Floating Fire
  • The Acrid Corpse
  • Han-Tyumi And The Murder Of The Universe
  • Welcome To An Altered Future
  • Digital Black
  • Han-Tyumi, The Confused Cyborg
  • Soy-Protein Munt Machine
  • Vomit Coffin
  • Murder Of The Universe
Changed Giver - RSD 2024
£21.99 GBP £27.99
Embarrassment - RSD 2024
£19.99 GBP £24.99
£25.99 GBP
Come Away With ESG
£19.99 GBP
Chutes Too Narrow
£19.99 GBP
£18.99 GBP
Blue Banisters
£34.99 GBP
£27.99 GBP
No Singles
£17.99 GBP
Harry Pussy
£15.99 GBP
Liquid Skin
£21.99 GBP
The Age Of Quarrel
£28.99 GBP
Ace of Spades
£49.99 GBP
Harmony Corruption
£50.00 GBP
£49.99 GBP
The Age Of Nero
£85.00 GBP
Stop The Bleeding
£110.00 GBP
Now, Diabolical
£249.99 GBP
Ocean Rain
£21.99 GBP
The Versions
£14.99 GBP £21.99
Life On The Road
£14.99 GBP
Night Pillers
£16.99 GBP
Hotel Aporia
£18.99 GBP
Floor It!!!
£18.99 GBP
£32.99 GBP
The Old Magic
£21.99 GBP
Remember This
£14.99 GBP
Extreme Witchcraft
£29.99 GBP
The Apple Drop
£14.99 GBP