£15.99 GBP £19.99

A 'collection of songs' is the most accurate description for this album. Unlike the rest of 2017's releases - or anything Gizz have produced since 2014's 'I'm in Your Mind Fuzz' - Gumboot Soup isn't held together by any semblance of a concept, leading many to dub it a sequel to their 2014 hotchpotch Oddments. Still, there is one relatively consistent element: Gumboot Soup is Gizz's most thorough embrace of melody ever, with the band going all in on infectious psych-pop tunes.

'Beginner's Luck' - not just because of its gambling-based lyrics - does this particularly well, sprinkled with Beatles influence and topped off with an exhilaratingly erratic wah-wah guitar solo. The penultimate track 'I'm Sleepin' In' commits to this idea even further, with a beat so catchy it practically begs to be clapped along to. Elsewhere, the band blend this direction with the jazz-prog rhythms of the previous two records 'Polygondwanaland' and 'Sketches of Brunswick East.'

'Barefoot Desert' and 'The Last Oasis' - both fronted by harmonica player Ambrose Kenny-Smith - achieve this in two distinct ways. The former's tight groove and yelpy vocals give it a slight Talking Heads vibe, whilst the latter's heavenly vocals and lush instrumentation sound like a hypnagogic re-imagining of a SoBE track. Muddy Water - as well as being the third Gizz song named after a description of water - is an enthralling prog folk flurry that wouldn't sound out of place on a Jethro Tull album, elaborately intertwining acoustic guitar, bass and drum rhythms. Later on, Cook Craig fronts Down the Sink, a delectable slice of funk rock unlike anything else the group have done before.


  • Beginner's Luck
  • Greenhouse Heat Death
  • Barefoot Desert
  • Muddy Water
  • Superposition
  • Down The Sink
  • The Great Chain Of Being
  • The Last Oasis
  • All Is Known
  • I'm Sleepin' In
  • The Wheel
Changed Giver - RSD 2024
£21.99 GBP £27.99
Embarrassment - RSD 2024
£19.99 GBP £24.99
£25.99 GBP
Come Away With ESG
£19.99 GBP
Chutes Too Narrow
£19.99 GBP
£18.99 GBP
Blue Banisters
£34.99 GBP
£27.99 GBP
No Singles
£17.99 GBP
Harry Pussy
£15.99 GBP
Liquid Skin
£21.99 GBP
The Age Of Quarrel
£28.99 GBP
Ace of Spades
£49.99 GBP
Harmony Corruption
£50.00 GBP
£49.99 GBP
The Age Of Nero
£85.00 GBP
Stop The Bleeding
£110.00 GBP
Now, Diabolical
£249.99 GBP
Ocean Rain
£21.99 GBP
The Versions
£14.99 GBP £21.99
Life On The Road
£14.99 GBP
Night Pillers
£16.99 GBP
Hotel Aporia
£18.99 GBP
Floor It!!!
£18.99 GBP
£32.99 GBP
The Old Magic
£21.99 GBP
Remember This
£14.99 GBP
Extreme Witchcraft
£29.99 GBP
The Apple Drop
£14.99 GBP