£29.99 GBP

This product is unavailable

Indies only limited edition

Texas born guitarist Melvin Sparks is one of the godfathers of Acid Jazz. He first came to prominence in the bands of Jack McDuff and Lou Donaldson, providing an essential element in their funky groove- based classics of the late 60s. He then became part of the Prestige Records funk team, under the tutelage of producer Bob Porter. He made his debut LP Sparks, for the label in 1970, alongside Idris Muhammad, Leon Spencer and Houston Person. Two further exciting albums appeared on the label with “Spark Plug” and “Akilah” and over a dozen side-man appearances.

When Porter left to set up Eastbound Records in Detroit - as part of Westbound Records - Sparks followed, recording his label debut Texas Twister in 1973. The following year, after Porter left, he recorded the album that became “’75” with some of the label’s top session players, including members of Funkadelic and vocalist Jimmy D Scott, who sang on ‘I Got To Have You’ and ‘If You Want My Love’. The nine tracks featured a slicker sound, that mirrored the contemporary soul jazz of the time and included club classics like 'Get Ya Some' and 'Get Down With The Get Down’.

Sparks began recording one more album for the label which languished in the vaults for decades and then mostly concentrated on session work before he was rediscovered by the acid jazz scene in the late 80s, and was brought over to Europe to tour as part of the BGP All-Stars and this late revival saw him record five further albums.

This is the first vinyl reissue of this album since 1975.




  • I Got To Have You
  • Mockingbird
  • Looking For A Love
  • Get Ya Some
  • Get Down With The Get Down
  • Bump And Bump
  • In The Morning
  • If You Want My Love
Changed Giver - RSD 2024
£21.99 GBP £27.99
Embarrassment - RSD 2024
£19.99 GBP £24.99
£25.99 GBP
Come Away With ESG
£19.99 GBP
Chutes Too Narrow
£19.99 GBP
£18.99 GBP
Blue Banisters
£34.99 GBP
£27.99 GBP
No Singles
£17.99 GBP
Harry Pussy
£15.99 GBP
Liquid Skin
£21.99 GBP
The Age Of Quarrel
£28.99 GBP
Flash And The Pan
£10.99 GBP
£10.99 GBP
£14.99 GBP
A Casa
£21.99 GBP
£11.99 GBP
Happy Birthday
£11.99 GBP
Mister Heartbreak
£11.99 GBP
Remote Echoes
£19.99 GBP £26.99
Call by Night
£14.99 GBP £18.99
The chant of solitude
£14.99 GBP £18.99
Ace of Spades
£49.99 GBP
Harmony Corruption
£50.00 GBP
£49.99 GBP
The Age Of Nero
£85.00 GBP
Stop The Bleeding
£110.00 GBP
Now, Diabolical
£249.99 GBP
Ocean Rain
£21.99 GBP
The Versions
£14.99 GBP £21.99
Life On The Road
£14.99 GBP
Night Pillers
£16.99 GBP
Hotel Aporia
£18.99 GBP
Floor It!!!
£18.99 GBP